Clearing Out UFO’s

Last night I had the urge to complete some UFOs to clear the decks.  I finished up the reversible vest, which is now blocking with the small fan to hurry things along:

Also in the completed pile were a couple of  pairs of children’s socks for Afghans for Afghans:

afa socks 3b

so the total count for the spring campaign is 1719 pairs of socks.  Wow, that’s been a lot of socks.  Fortunately, I’ve learned some new techniques along the way to make things more interesting!

In the charity category, also completed was a helmet liner for Socks for Soldiers, which will go with a pair of socks.  Unfortunately, I need to complete another one with the leftover yarn, so there’s another one on the needles tonight.

sfs helmet liner 1

The hope is that getting these other things out of the way will allow time for:

  • assembling a mitered-square blanket for Afghans for Afghans in honor of Kay Gardiner’s husband.
  • finishing the Slinky Ribs sweater
  • playing with yarn – not sure what, but I want to work on combining yarns together in unexpected ways

2 thoughts on “Clearing Out UFO’s

  1. Hah! Yes, I’ve discovered (after what, 30 years of knitting?) the wonders of the locking stitch markers, and that is the place where the button and loop will go. Well, they’ve already done there, and I haven’t taken a photo, which I should do now, because tomorrow it needs to go in the mail to Mom!

Leave a comment